

Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors

Ronny Billen



2024 JACoW Election Coordinator



JACoW Team Meeting, Deauville, France, November 2024



The JACoW Team & Board of Directors

- The JACoW Team is composed of JACoW editors and other experts, as defined in the JACoW Collaboration
- > A **Board of Directors** is elected from among the **Team**
- The Board of Directors is composed of a Chair, a Deputy Chair, a Coordinator and at least two further Directors
- The Board of Directors is the managing body that monitors operation of the collaboration and is the deciding authority concerning operations and development/changes to the collaboration and its activities
- The BoD establishes the policies and work programme for the collaboration and monitors progress and verifies that actions have been carried out
- Members of the BoD are elected for fixed terms defined in the <u>Charter</u>
- Mandates are for up to three years, for a maximum of two consecutive mandates

Current JACoW Board of Directors



Role	Person	Institute	Since	Until
Chair	Meghan McATEER	HZB, Germany	2021 JTM	2024 JTM
Deputy Chair	Caitlin HOFFMAN	BNL, USA	2023 JTM	2026 JTM
Coordinator	Jana THOMSON	TRIUMF, Canada	2021 JTM	2024 JTM
Director	Johan OLANDER	ESS, Sweden	2019, 2022 JTM	2025 JTM
Director	Thakonwat CHANWATTANA	SLRI, Thailand	2022 JTM	2025 JTM
Director	Volker SCHAA	GSI, Germany	2022 JTM	2025 JTM

So Both the Chair and the Coordinator were elected at the 2021 JACoW Team Meeting and have ended their three-year term.

Solution Soluti Solution Solution Solution Solution Solution Solution So



2024 Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors

- Chair and Coordinator positions are up for election
- Directors remain until next year
- Request for nominees went out to the Team on 10-Sep-2024
- Nominees have been asked if they are willing to serve and have the support of their lab
- The candidates are nominees that have accepted their nomination

Role	Nominees (count)	Declined (count)	Accepted (count)
Chair	8	4	4
Coordinator	4	2	2



2024 Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors

- The candidates for JACoW Chair:
 - Petr ANISIMOV (LANL)
 - Maurizio MONTIS (INFN)
 - Christine PETIT-JEAN-GENAZ (CERN)
 - Adriana ROSSI (CERN)

- The candidates for JACoW Coordinator:
 - Maggie MONTES (SLAC)
 - Jana THOMSON (TRIUMF)



Elections According to the Charter

- Each Team Member or Designated Conference Representative, may cast one vote only, regardless of the role and of the number of conferences he or she represents
- Each conference thus has the right to express one vote only, through its Editor or Designated Representative
- Team Members and Officers who are not Editors or Designated Representatives can also express one vote each



JACoW Chair (maximum one vote)

Petr ANISIMOV, LANL, USA

Maurizio MONTIS, INFN, Italy

Christine PETIT-JEAN-GENAZ, CERN, Switzerland

Adriana ROSSI, CERN, Switzerland

JACoW Coordinator (maximum one vote)



Maggie MONTES, SLAC, USA





Adriana Rossi CERN Senior Accelerator Beam Physicist

At CERN since 1998, I have worked in the Accelerator sector in the fields of vacuum, collimation, beam instrumentation and electron devices.

Currently project leader of the new AD electron cooler. Member of the EPS-AG since 2020, I have contributed to the IPAC organisation (IPAC'23, '24 and '26 as SPC-MC chair and OC member).



Photo at IPAC'24, Nashville

Motivation: The open-source conference proceedings offered by JACoW is the base for knowledge sharing and advancing in accelerator science and technology across the world. I would be honoured to contribute to JACoW, making sure that collaboration amongst the different labs and university continues with adequate resources.