## IPAC'24 - 15th International Particle Accelerator Conference



Contribution ID: 888 Contribution code: TUPG40

Type: Poster Presentation

# Status of beam commissioning at NanoTerasu

Tuesday, 21 May 2024 16:00 (2 hours)

NanoTerasu is a new 3 GeV compact soft X-ray (SX) light source having a circumference of 349 m constructed in Japan. The lattice structure is a type of multi-bend achromat with design emittance values of 1.14 nm<sup>-</sup> rad and 10 pm<sup>-</sup>rad, respectively. A target stored current is set to 400 mA to provide a high coherence and highly brilliant light from extreme ultraviolet to SX range. The injector LINAC commissioning was started in April 2023. After first 10 days, the beam energy successfully reached 3 GeV with the designed emittance. The 3 GeV C-band full-energy injector LINAC enables the extension to the SX free electron laser in the future. The storage ring beam commissioning was started on June 8th. We achieved the off-axis beam injection just adjusting beam injection trajectory from the beginning of the beam commissioning. As a result of the precise alignment of the magnets, the injected beam turned around 300 turns without the supply of RF power and the adjustment of the steering magnets on the first day of the commissioning. The stored current was reached 300 mA with top-up beam injection in November. The user operation will be started in April 2024. The creation of COD and tune correction tables for the insertion device is also in progress including non-linear magnetic field correction. We try to start the user operation with designed 400 mA top-up beam injection. The status of beam commissioning will be presented.

### Footnotes

# **Funding Agency**

### Paper preparation format

LaTeX

## **Region represented**

Asia

Primary author: UESHIMA, Kota (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology)

**Co-authors:** KIYOMICHI, Akio (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); KONDO, Chikara (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); IWAI, Eito (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); DEWA, Hideki (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); KOBAYASHI, Hideki (Nihon Advanced Technology Co., Ltd); Mr MAESAKA, Hirokazu (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); SUMITOMO, Hiroshi (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); YAMAGUCHI, Hiroshi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); TANAKA,

Hitoshi (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); TAMURA, Kazuhiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); MORIYA, Kazuki (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); YOKOMACHI, Kazutoshi (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); YANAGIDA, Kenichi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); FUKAMI, Kenji (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); OKADA, Kensuke (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); SAKAI, Kohei (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); KAN, Koichi (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); SOUTOME, Kouichi (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); YOSH-IOKA, Masamichi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); OISHI, Masaya (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); SHOJI, Masazumi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); ISHII, Miho (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); MASAKI, Mitsuhiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); HOSODA, Naoyasu (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); NISHIMORI, Nobuyuki (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); ADUMI, Noriyoshi (The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research); YAMAMOTO, Ryo (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); TAKESAKO, Ryoichi (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); SAIDA, Ryota (Nihon Advanced Technology Co., Ltd); MATSUI, Sakuo (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); MATSUBARA, Shin-ichi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); TANAKA, Shinichiro (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); INOUE, Shinobu (The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research); TAKANO, Shiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); OBARA, Shuhei (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); TAKAHASHI, Shunya (Nihon Advanced Technology Co., Ltd); TAKAHASHI, Sunao (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); IWASHITA, Taiki (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); FUJITA, Takahiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); INAGAKI, Takahiro (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); WATANABE, Takahiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); ASAKA, Takao (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); HAMANO, Takashi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); OHSHIMA, Takashi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); SUGIMOTO, Takashi (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); TANAKA, Takashi (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); TOMAI, Takato (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); MASUDA, Takemasa (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); MAGOME, Tamotsu (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); SAKURAI, Tatsuyuki (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); HARA, Toru (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); HIRAIWA, Toshihiko (RIKEN SPring-8 Center); SENO, Toshio (SPring-8 Service Co. Ltd.); ITOGA, Toshiro (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); TSUCHIYAMA, Tsubasa (Nihon Advanced Technology Co., Ltd); TANIUCHI, Tsutomu (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); AOKI, Tsuyoshi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute); HOSAKA, Yuji (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology); TANIUCHI, Yukiko (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute)

Presenter: UESHIMA, Kota (National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology)

Session Classification: Tuesday Poster Session

**Track Classification:** MC2: Photon Sources and Electron Accelerators: MC2.A05 Synchrotron Radiation Facilities